Compromise is for politicians.

I watched with a lot amusement the announcements made by the BCCI. Correct me, if I am wrong. The idea was to meet up and come up with solutions that were supposed to encourage and inculcate cricket and winning habits amongst players.

But what do we have now. A nicely worked out compromise, that just pulls wool over the people’s eyes. The board has clearly sent out signals, that as a player you can get away with absolute mediocrity and if you are a cricket enthusiast, you will have live with this mediocrity.

What I fail to understand is; what have endorsements got to do with performance? If I am a professional, I know my “good times” will not last forever. So if I don’t give it my 110%, I stand to loose everything, because, I no longer will have people’s respect, which in turn means they will not standby my endorsements. I have to be a ‘full time’ idiot not to understand these dynamics and devote all my time to endorsements or not perform on the field.

The measures suggested by the BCCI smacks of ignorance. 3 brands per player, no more than certain number of days for shoots, no shooting or events to be attended 15 days prior to a tournament etc., etc. It shows how people who have not played the game are now killing it in the name of revival. But hey, with the BCCI, you never know. There is always light at the end of the tunnel. The next win, could throw all this out of the window, and our players will be restored to their rightful place – next to our Gods. All this will be end up being notes for a sequel of the comedy of errors.

About prashramamurthy

#Beer guzzler, #tech, #music, #photography and #movie buff, #socialmedia enthusiast and an ardent admirer of #Indian #politics and #cricket! Tweets by @prashramamurthy View all posts by prashramamurthy

Leave a comment